A friend and a colleague

It is and will be very difficult to describe Rana in words so I will use pictures with some captions and thoughts…

Office Picnic 2007, Damdama

What I see is a smile, a bundle of energy and a knack to try out something new, do you?

100_0904

100_0992

DSCN2578

Holi 2007, Office

IMG_0302 

Founder’s Day 2007, Asiad Village Complex

IMG_6430

That was drink #… we lost count and he was slaushed to the core. I asked him to keep his head out of the window, so that he wouldn’t puke in the car! That was the first time that I dropped him back home… and then on it was a daily ritual till he bought his bike.

Everyday after work I would drop him off opposite ‘Moolchand Hospital’ and carry on home. Most of our time was spent fine tuning the equalizer for each song.

24 November 2007 at my residence

Rana was the official photographer for the day that we moved into our new house. Here are some of the pictures …

GrihaPravesh 010

GrihaPravesh 022

GrihaPravesh 064

Christmas Party 2007, Asiad Village Complex

He was slaushed again ….

100_3740

IMG_9608

100_3698

100_3703

 

IMG_9605

Rajendra Singh Rana was a fun guy with a good heart and a clean soul.

PICT0055

He had the passion to learn and try something new every day.

This is the last picture that I shot of him –

100_1505

We lost Rana in a freaky road accident on February 25, 2008 at aroud 7:00 AM.
It’s taken me a year to write about Rana. Daksh did find the courage to write briefly about Rana much earlier.

The day – 25/02/2008

I get a call at about 7:30ish in the morning from Sunil telling me that someone called Anmol from Rana’s mobile telling her that he had met with an accident near Hindon. A bus had hit him.

Nishi and Daksh rushed to the spot, so did Ankit. Puneet, Gamson and I spent a nearly an entire day with Rana’s dead body lying in the open sun covered in just a cloth at the Hindon morgue.

The last that I saw of Rana was when he was lifted onto the van to be taken to Himachal.
I did not go for his cremation, just wished his soul the best.

This song according to me decodes the last moments Rana lived, see if you can relate…

Any Dream Will Do

I closed my eyes, drew back the curtain
To see for certain what I thought I knew
Far far away, someone was weeping
But the world was sleeping
Any dream will do

I wore my coat, with golden lining
Bright colours shining, wonderful and new
And in the east, the dawn was breaking
And the world was waking
Any dream will do

A crash of drums, a flash of light
My golden coat flew out of sight
The colours faded into darkness
I was left alone

May I return to the beginning
The light is dimming, and the dream is too
The world and I, we are still waiting
Still hesitating
Any dream will do 

A crash of drums, a flash of light
My golden coat flew out of sight
The colours faded into darkness
I was left alone

May I return to the beginning
The light is dimming, and the dream is too
The world and I, we are still waiting
Still hesitating
Any dream will do

May god bless his soul and may He make a few more like him.

21 thoughts on “A friend and a colleague

  1. Every time I think about Rana some thoughts haunt me…Like I will never see him again…..I have never come to terms with this…. On saturday U say that see u on monday and on monday u come to know that guy is never comming back….

    The other thought that haunts me that what he must have felt in his last moments….would he have know he is dieing…would he have felt pain…loneliness or nothing…..

    • Mita, I know that feeling… I have come out of it with extreme difficulty. I thought I could have averted the situation if I would have asked him to get the needed work done on Saturday. Then he would not have gone home.
      I spoke to many people, including Daksh, Sunil and then finally Rohini (my reiki guru). Rohini said, “you helped him move on”. Maybe, the egoist in me liked that, but I thought of it later and came to realize that you cannot fight destiny. We were chosen to meet and that was good enough.
      About his last moments, I think it was all of what you have written and oneNess with God.
      Take care!

Leave a Reply

